Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Item ID# A967.044.001
Title Minute book
Object Name Book, Record
Dates of Creation 1910-1918
Creator Sauble Falls Telephone Co. Ltd.
Other Creators Spring Creek Telephone Company
Description Spring Creek Telephone Company Minute book from November 1910 to July 1918, reflects minutes taken at meetings of both directors and shareholders.
Admin/Biographical History The Spring Creek Telephone company organized in November 1910 as an independent telephone company providing a telephone service running from Hepworth by the Sauble Mills and to Sauble Beach, Bruce County, Ontario. In or around 1926, the company incorporated, changing its name to Sauble Falls Telephone Co. Ltd. On July 8, 1966, a motion was carried providing that the Sauble Falls Telephone Co. surrender their charter after selling the Sauble Falls Telephone System to the Bell Telephone Company.

James Douglas was the first president. Alf Ruth was the president at the time of the Charter's surrender.
Physical Description 2 cm of textual records. hardcover, green multi-coloured. 24 x 19.5 cm
Subjects Administrative records
Telephone industry
People Douglas, James
Fraser, George
Harris, John
Jackson, Albert
Jackson, Thomas
Muma, B.F.
Ruth, Anthony
Ruth, Ed
Ruth, Leo
Sacerty, Peter
Sackett, Robert
Seaman, John
Thompson, Alf
Businesses and Organizations Sauble Falls Telephone Co. Ltd.
Place Amabel Township
Sauble Beach
Sauble Falls
Spring Creek
Level of Description Item